Gov. Nathan Deal received notice from the White House and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) that an additional 34 Georgia counties impacted by Hurricane Michael have been approved for Public Assistance, which provides assistance for state and local costs incurred during preparation, recovery, restoration and cleanup related to Hurricane Michael.

The following 34 counties were today approved for Public Assistance: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Ben Hill, Berrien, Brooks, Bulloch, Candler, Chattahoochee, Clay, Coffee, Cook, Crawford, Echols, Evans, Glascock, Irwin, Jeff Davis, Jones, Marion, Peach, Putnam, Quitman, Randolph, Schley, Screven, Stewart, Tift, Toombs, Twiggs, Washington, Webster, Wheeler and Wilkinson Counties.

Thirty-one counties had previously been approved for Public Assistance: Baker, Bleckley, Burke, Calhoun, Colquitt, Crisp, Decatur, Dodge, Dooly, Dougherty, Early, Emanuel, Grady, Houston, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Laurens, Lee, Macon, Miller, Mitchell, Pulaski, Seminole, Sumter, Terrell, Thomas, Treutlen, Turner, Wilcox and Worth counties.

FEMA Individual Assistance makes funding available to individuals and households. To date, Individual Assistance has been approved for the following counties: Baker, Calhoun, Clay, Crisp, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Laurens, Lee, Miller, Mitchell, Randolph, Seminole, Sumter, Terrell, Tift, Thomas, Turner and Worth counties.

All counties in Georgia are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, which provides assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance online here or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA(3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., seven days a week.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here